Temporary Work visa (subclass 457)

The 457 Temporary Work Visa is the most common visa for employees intending to work in Australia. This visa is intended for employers to sponsor overseas workers to work in Australia temporarily. The visa applicant can remain in Australia up to 4 years.

There are three separate applications and approvals required for the 457 visa program.

  1. an employer must be approved to sponsor foreign workers to be granted a work visa.
  2. a position must be approved for the sponsored worker. This is a called a Nomination Application.
  3. a visa application must be approved.

Applicants must demonstrate that they have the necessary minimum qualifications in order to work in that field (Trade / Diploma or Degree) or show a long work history if they are not qualified by their education.

Many visa applicants will also need to demonstrate a minimum level of English (IELTS 4.5). You are exempt from the English requirement if you are from, UK, USA, Canada, New Zealand or Ireland, or earn more than $96,400 base salary If you have studied for more than 5 years in secondary and tertiary study where learning was conducted in English you are also exempt.

All 457 Visa Holders are required to have the Medicare Equivalent health insurance. You will either need to provide a reciprocal medicare card or take out specific private health insurance that provides you with medicare equivalent cover. It is your responsibility to pay for and maintain your health insurance. Once granted a 457 Visa typically lasts for 4 years.

Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 186)

The Employer Nomination Scheme visa (subclass 186) is for skilled workers who want to work in Australia. It is part of the Permanent Employer Sponsored Visa program.

This visa is a permanent residence visa. You can be inside or outside Australia when you apply. If you are in Australia, you must hold a substantive visa or a bridging visa A, B or C.

The visa has three streams:

The Temporary Residence Transition stream is for subclass 457 visa holders who have worked for two years in the same occupation with their nominating employer (who has lodged a valid nomination with us under the Temporary Residence Transition stream), who wants to offer them a permanent position in that occupation.

The Direct Entry stream is for:

  • people who have been nominated by their employer under the Direct Entry stream
  • people who have never, or only briefly, worked in Australia
  • temporary residents who do not qualify for the Temporary Residence Transition stream, or
  • people with a nomination lodged with us before 1 July 2012.

The Agreement stream is for people sponsored by an employer through a labour agreement.

Regional Sponsorship Migration Scheme (subclass 187)

The Regional Skilled Migration Scheme (RSMS) is a permanent visa for people with a job offer/employment in a regional area of Australia. Criteria for grant of RSMS visas are generally easier to meet than for ENS but RSMS visas are subject to cancellation if the employee does not remain with the employer for 2 years.

To be eligible for RSMS an employer must be located in a regional area, as defined by post codes. However ALL of Western Australia, South Australia, ACT, Northern Territory and Tasmania are considered regional.

There is no list of occupations for RSMS, the applicant must have an occupation that is listed in ANZSCO 1-3 Major Groups. The applicant must have IELTS 6.0 unless they have been employed by the Sponsor on a 457 visa for the past 2 years, then you only need IELTS 5.

The applicant must also be under the age of 50.


Some of the requirements may change every financial year, please contact us for the latest migration policies and requirements updates.

Contact Us

Office Hours : Mon – Fri 9:30am – 5:30pm

Address : Level 23, 52 Martin Place, Sydney 2000

Contact Number : 02 9220 5104 (English) | 02 9220 5105 (Chinese)

Email : info@multimmi.com.au

zh_CNChinese en_AUEnglish